ACSA accredited departments


Accredited sites have undergone a robust and vigorous onsite review visit.  The ACSA review team consists of:

  • Clinical Reviewers
  • Lay Reviewers
  • A member of the ACSA team

On the visit, a variety of standards are assessed and the evidence for each standard is triangulated across a range of forums in the anaesthetic department to provide a fair, objective and measurable review process.

The list below are sites that have gained ACSA accreditation (in order of award being granted).



Homerton University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust 


Harrogate and District NHS Foundation Trust 2015
West Suffolk NHS Foundation Trust 2015
University Hospitals Plymouth NHS Trust  2015
St George's NHS Foundation Trust 2015
Kingston Hospital NHS Foundation Trust 2015
Torbay and South Devon NHS Foundation Trust 2016
St Helen's and Knowsley Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust 2016
Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust 2016
Portsmouth Hospitals NHS Trust 2016
Salford Royal Foundation Trust 2016
National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery 2016
South Warwickshire NHS Foundation Trust 2016
York Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (York Hospital) 2017
Manchester University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust (Manchester Royal Infirmary, Manchester Royal Eye Hospital, St Mary's Hospital and Trafford General Hospital) 2017
Bolton NHS Foundation Trust 2017
The Walton Centre NHS Foundation Trust 2017
The Royal Bournemouth Hospital NHS Foundation Trust 2017
Dorset County Hospital NHS Foundation Trust 2018
Derby Teaching Hospitals NHS Trust 2018
Lancashire Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust 2018
Alder Hey Children's NHS Foundation Trust 2018
Wirral University Teaching Hospital NHS Foundation Trust 2018
Aintree University Hospital NHS Foundation Trust 2018
Epsom and St Helier University Hospitals NHS Trust 2018
Worcestershire Acute Hospitals NHS Trust 2018
NHS Lothian: St John's Hospital 2018
East Lancashire Hospitals NHS Trust 2018
Buckinghamshire Healthcare NHS Trust 2019
Norfolk and Norwich University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust 2019
Airedale NHS Foundation Trust 2019
Royal Manchester Children's Hospital 2019
Dudley Group NHS Foundation Trust 2019


What do you receive once accredited?

  • A plaque to display in your anaesthetic department
  • A letter of acknowledgement from the College President
  • A press release
  • A formal accreditation ceremony at your department, with a College representative
  • An ACSA Accredited Department Poster
  • An ACSA Patient Information Poster
  • Continued access to your appointed College Guide for one year following your accreditation award
  • Continued support from the College ACSA team
  • Assistance with your annual compliance document submission during your four year accreditation cycle
  • Use of an ACSA quality mark, denoting your commitment to quality and patient care, when advertising to potential employees and trainees

*Homerton Hospital was the first of all the departments in the United Kingdom to have achieved accreditation in 2014 and has now been reaccredited in 2018.

**Manchester University NHS Foundation Trust (MFT) was formed on 1st October 2017 following the merger of Central Manchester NHS Foundation Trust (CMFT) and University Hospital of South Manchester NHS Foundation Trust (UHSM). ACSA accreditation pertains only to sites originally under CMFT.