ACSA domain 5 subspecialties


The ACSA standards have five ‘domains’:

  1. The Care Pathway
  2. Equipment, Facilities and Staffing
  3. Patient Experience
  4. Clinical Governance
  5. Subspecialties

Domains one to four aim to cover all aspects of general anaesthetic care provided in all hospitals in the UK.  The fifth domain focuses on the provision of additional levels of specialised care delivered in specialist hospitals or general hospitals with a large and separate sub-specialty unit.

The anaesthesia subspecialties currently included in ACSA domain five are:

Subspecialty Accredited sites Standards Author
Adult cardiothoracic services   Completed Dr Noel Gavin, ACTA Committee
Neuroanaesthesia and neurocritical care

Plymouth Hospitals NHS Trust

Salford Royal Foundation Trust


National Hospital for Neurology and Neurosurgery

Completed Dr Ian Tweedie, President, NASGBI
Ophthalmic   Completed Dr K-L Kong, President, BOAS
Vascular   Completed Dr Adam Pichel, Chair, VASGBI;
Dr J Gudgeon and Dr S Howell

The domain five standard writing process


Related downloads: