Professor Ellen O'Sullivan



Term of office on Council

March 2016–2022


St James’s Hospital, Dublin

Register of Interests

  • Chair of the Scientific Committee on Respiration and Airway Management of the European Society of Anaesthesiology, ESA.
  • Member of Board of Directors of  Society Airway Management (SAM)
  • Member of Safety & Quality Committee, WFSA
  • Elected member Academy of Anesthesiology, USA


I trained in anaesthesia in the UK passing the FRCA in1986 and spent 10 years as an NHS Consultant at the University Hospital Aintree, Merseyside.
Now a consultant in a busy Dublin hospital I specialise in airway management and a full spectrum of elective and out of hours work.
I have been involved in the Difficult Airway Society (DAS) since it’s foundation and was elected President of DAS in November 2009.In 2016 I was appointed the Difficult Airway Society Professor of Anaesthesia & Airway Management.
I am the immediate Past-President of the College of Anaesthetist of Ireland having held numerous posts including Chair of Education and Chair of Examinations.
I was elected to the Council of the Association of Anaesthetists of Great Britain and Ireland (AAGBI) in 2001 and have held many posts including Vice-President. I received the John Snow Silver Medal for my contributions to the AAGBI.
International and third world work forms an important part of my career to date with early contributions to validating what later became the Life Box Pulse-Oximetry project and I have made many visits to Africa especially to Uganda and Malawi.

This website uses Cookies, for further information see our privacy policy.