25th Anniversary Essay Prizes

As part of the RCoA’s 25th Anniversary celebrations, three essay competitions have been held looking towards the future of the specialty.

Medical students and Foundation Year doctors were invited to submit an essay in response to the title: ‘What will anaesthesia look like in the next 25 years’.

Anaesthetists in training were invited to submit an essay in response to the title: ‘A day in the life of an anaesthetic trainee in 2042’.

The Awards were presented at the Summer Symposium in Belfast today.

We are delighted to announce the winners and runners up below.

Medical Student Essay Prize

Ariella Midgen, University College London (5th year)

Tom Sanderson, Newcastle University (5th year)

Foundation Year Doctor Essay Prize

Dr Dairshini Sithambaram, Aberdeen Royal Infirmary (1st year)

Dr Laura Marsland, Dartford and Gravesham NHS Trust (1st year)

Anaesthetists in Training Essay Prize

Dr James Plumb, Southampton University Hospital

Dr Naomi Ward, Sheffield Training Hospitals NHS Foundation

To find out more, please visit our 25th anniversary website: www.rcoa.ac.uk/rcoa25.


14 June 2017