Election to Council 2018: Announcement of Candidates

Nominations for election to the Council of the Royal College of Anaesthetists were recently invited. Council comprises 20 Consultant seats, two SAS seats and two Trainee seats.

This year there are five Consultant vacancies, one Trainee vacancy and no SAS vacancy. Terms of office commence in March 2018.

Those who will be standing for election are listed below (in the order they were received). 

Election statements, self-declared conflicts of interest and CVs will be posted on this website when ballots are distributed on 20 October 2017.

Consultant vacancies (five to elect to serve a term of six years)

Dr Helen Hobbiger, Kings Lynn
Dr Darrell Lowry, Portadown
Dr Claire Shannon, London
Dr Mark Forrest, Manchester
Dr Aamer Ahmed, Leicester
Professor Mark Bellamy, Leeds
Dr Sridhar Gummaraju, Oswestry
Dr David Selwyn, Nottingham
Dr Paul McAndrew, Sunderland
Dr Jonathan Smith, Newcastle upon Tyne
Dr Helgi Johannsson, London
Dr Sarah Ramsay, Glasgow
Dr Ian Johnson, Bangor
Dr Thomas Gale, Plymouth
Dr Claire Mallinson, London

Trainee vacancies (one to elect to serve a term of four years)

Dr David Hutchins, Plymouth
Dr Toni Brunning, Worcester
Dr Jamie Strachan, Oxford
Dr Katie Samuel, Bristol
Dr Joanna Thirsk, Aberdeen
Dr Shamir Karmali, London
Dr Antonia Boyce, London

Important dates
Electronic ballots will be sent by email on 20 October 2017 to your email address registered with the College. Look out for a message from RCoAvote@electoralreform.co.uk. For those who have requested it there will also be an option to vote by postal ballot (unfortunately it is now too late to request a postal ballot).

To ensure the process is independent and fair we are again using leading ballot services provider Electoral Reform Services (ERS) to conduct the election.

You need to vote electronically or for those voting by post ensure your ballot paper has been received by ERS by no later than 5.00 pm on 4 December 2017. The election results will be declared via the College website as soon as possible following the ballot count. The results will also be published in the College Bulletin.

Voting rights

  • Voters who can vote for the Consultant vacancy only: Fellows by Examination, Fellows ad eundem, Associate Fellows, Fellows by Election
  • Voters who can vote for both Trainee and Consultant vacancies: Fellows who are registered with the College for training
  • Voters who can vote for the Trainee vacancy only: all trainees registered with the College who do not have fellowship

If you have not received a ballot and you believe you should have based on the information above, you should contact Rose Murphy with your College Reference Number (CRN).

Contact Information:
Ms Rose Murphy
CEO Office Manager
020 7092 1612


06 October 2017

This website uses Cookies, for further information see our privacy policy.