Election to RCoA Council 2019: Nominations open

Nominations for election to the Council of The Royal College of Anaesthetists are now open. Council comprises 24 seats, made up of:

  • 20 consultant seats
  • 2 SAS doctor seats and
  • 2 trainee seats.

The vacancies and timetable for 2019 are as follows:

  • 2 consultant vacancies: Those eligible for nomination are those who are on the specialist register and are Fellows by Examination of the College of four or more years standing or Fellows ad eundem.
  • 1 trainee vacancy: Those eligible for nomination are Fellows who will be in training when they take up their post on Council on 13 March 2019.
  • 0 SAS vacancies: There are no SAS vacancies this year.

Consultant members of Council are elected for a maximum of two terms and an aggregate of ten years. The first term of office is six years and subject to re-election. The second term is up to four years. Terms of office can be extended if a Council member becomes a president or vice president, subject to the maximum terms of those offices.

Trainee members of Council are elected for one four year term.

The Duties and Responsibilities of Members of Council can be found here. All those wishing to be elected to Council are asked to read this document prior to seeking nomination.


  • 20 July 2018: Nominations open: via our election website: www.ersvotes.com/rcoa18.
  • 12:00 noon 28 September 2018: Nominations close. All completed nominations must be received on the online platform by this date.  Any nominations received after this date will not be accepted.
  • 28 September 2018: Members’ ballot contact details finalised. Fellows and members who have changed their email are requested to give notice to the membership team by emailing subs@rcoa.ac.uk by this date to allow time for updating.
  • 12 October 2018: Announcement of candidates standing. The names of the candidates and which category of vacancy they are standing for will be published on the College website.
  • 30 October 2018: Ballot emails distributed. Ballots will be sent electronically by ERS to the email address registered at the College. The ballot process will be managed and verified by ERS.
  • 3 December 2018: Election closes at 12:00 noon.
  • 4 December 2018: Result announced. The election results will be declared via the College website as soon as possible following the ballot count. The results will also be published in the President’s e-newsletter and the College Bulletin.
  • 13 March 2019: New members will be admitted to their first council meeting.


Contact Information:

Rose Murphy
CEO Office Manager
Royal College of Anaesthetists

020 7092 1612



20 July 2018