NHS consultant and trainee anaesthetist award winners announced

The RCoA is pleased to announce the winners of the 2016 research awards run in partnership with the NIHR Clinical Research Network (CRN).

These new awards, for members and fellows of the RCoA, recognise NHS clinicians (consultants and trainees) who have made outstanding contributions to clinical research, particularly in relation to NIHR CRN Portfolio research studies.

Dr Gudrun Kunst, MD PhD, FRCA, FFICM, Consultant Anaesthetist, King’s College Hospital NHS Foundation Trust received the consultant award and £1,000.

Dr James Robert Sheehan, Royal Berkshire Hospital NHS Foundation Trust, received the trainee award and £1,000.

Applicants were required to outline their contribution to the leadership of several NIHR Clinical Research Network Portfolio studies with particular weight being attached to:

  • demonstration of clinical leadership, enabling their organisation to increase its participation in clinical studies;
  • individual contributions to successful delivery of clinical research studies.

Dr Liam Brennan, President of the Royal College of Anaesthetists said: “Dr Gudrun Kunst and Dr James Sheehan are very worthy winners of the inaugural RCoA/Clinical Research Network awards. They are to be congratulated on combining such excellent research and quality improvement activity with full time clinical careers. I look forward to presenting them with their awards at the RCoA Anniversary Meeting in March 2017.”

Professor Michael Grocott, RCoA Council member and NIHR CRN National Specialty Lead for Anaesthesia, Perioperative Medicine and Pain Management said: “It is a real pleasure to be able to celebrate the great work done by very many research active NHS clinicians within our specialty through these awards to two outstanding individuals. Dr Gudrun Kunst from King’s College Hospital and Dr James Robert Sheehan from the Royal Berkshire Hospital have contributed hugely to the work of the NIHR Clinical Research Network and richly deserve these inaugural RCoA/CRN awards.”

The Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine (FICM) also offered a similar (but separate) joint award, in tandem with the RCoA/CRN Award. The FICM awards were presented at the annual Intensive Care Society ‘State of the Art’ meeting in December 2016.

The RCoA/CRN awards will be presented during the RCoA’s Anniversary Meeting in March 2017.

21 December 2016

This website uses Cookies, for further information see our privacy policy.