Royal Bournemouth and Christchurch NHS Trust crowned Anaesthesia and Perioperative Medicine Team of the Year

The anaesthetic team at Royal Bournemouth and Christchurch NHS Trust was named Anaesthesia and Perioperative Team of the Year in the RCoA-sponsored 2018 BMJ Awards at a ceremony in London on Thursday 10 May. 

The team, led by consultant anaesthetist Dr Elaine O’Shea, won the inaugural award for its ‘Managing complex surgical pain’ programme and its work offering preoperative psychological interventions to patients.

Some patients are more prone to postsurgical pain than others. Anxious before surgery, they are often slower to mobilise afterwards, resulting in an increased length of stay in hospital for those patients. The team at Royal Bournemouth and Christchurch NHS Trust set out to identify the patients most likely to suffer these symptoms and offered them a preoperative psychological intervention to improve their mood and give them realistic expectations.

Suitable patients were selected based on their score for the Kalkman preoperative prediction of severe postoperative pain. Those who scored in the top two categories were offered the intervention, consisting of up to three one-hour sessions of cognitive behavioural therapy, mindfulness, and relaxation techniques.

The scheme has become a routine part of care at the trust and may be extended to other surgical specialties. The initiative has also made patients’ length of stay more predictable, allowing better patient flow in the hospital.

Dr Liam Brennan, President of the Royal College of Anaesthetists, said:

Dr O’Shea and the whole team at Royal Bournemouth and Christchurch NHS Trust are leading the way in patient-centred care.

“Anaesthetists play an important role in helping patients prepare for and recover from surgery. This program shows just how effective perioperative medicine can be to improve outcomes for patients and making a real difference to the NHS as a whole.


11 May 2018