Dates, Fees and Applications - Primary OSCE

The dates and application windows of the Primary OSCE/SOE exams are set out in the calendars below.  The exam normally runs for one week (Monday to Friday).  The College reserves the right to shorten or extend this period (please see the information sheet at the back of the application form).  Applications received after 5.00 pm on the listed closing date will not be accepted. Early application avoids worry it also ensures that the examination department have time to liaise regarding discrepancies.

Examination Fees:  You can pay via PayPal on completion of the on-line application process.  If you are submitting a paper application then exam fees are to be paid by a cheque drawn on a UK clearing bank, sterling draft or postal order. Cheques should be made payable to: 'The Royal College of Anaesthetists'.

Primary OSCE/SOE Examinations Calendar; August 2018 to July 2019
Application opening date
Tuesday, 21 August 2018
Tuesday, 16 October 2018
Tuesday, 19 February 2019
Application closing date
Thursday, 4 October 2018
Thursday, 6 December 2018
Thursday, 11 April 2019
Examination date
(week commencing)
Monday, 5 November 2018
Monday, 21 January 2019
Monday, 13 May 2019

Examination fees
Both

OSCE

SOE


 

£600
£330
£300

 

£600
£330
£300

 

£600
£330
£300

Primary OSCE/SOE Examinations Calendar; August 2019 to July 2020
Application opening date
Monday, 19 August 2019
Monday, 14 October 2019
Monday, 17 February 2020
Application closing date
Thursday, 3 October 2019
Thursday, 5 December 2019
Thursday, 16 April 2020
Examination date
(week commencing)
Monday, 4 November 2019
Monday, 27 January 2020
Monday, 18 May 2020

Examination fees
Both

OSCE

SOE

 

£615
£335
£305

 

£615
£335
£305

 

£615
£335
£305

 

You can now apply and pay for an examination on-line

Primary OSCE Application form
Please see downloads below.

Completing your form:

  • Read all the information sheet and relevant exam regulation sections.
  • Complete all sections, then check through again.
  • Sign and date the form.
  • Remember you are signing to say that your College Tutor or Senior Consultant supports your application for the exam.
  • Enclose any competency certificates required (not applicable to Primary MCQ).
  • Enclose Cheque or Postal Order for Exam fee made payable to 'The Royal College of Anaesthetists'.
  • Post to College address.  If less than seven days before closing date, we recommend you use next day delivery.

The Exams Directorate will send you an email to confirm receipt of your form.  If you have not received one within seven days of despatch, or less if the closing date is near, then you are advised to contact the exams team. The College cannot be held responsible for non-delivery or delays in the postal system.

Requests for special consideration of a disability must be made on application.  There are no standard rules for Dyslexia for OSCE/SOE.

Primary OCSE/SOE Links
Primary OSCE/SOE Homepage
Exam Structure
Results, Allocations and Statistics
FAQs