CCT in Anaesthetics - Core Level Training

Published: 14/08/2019

Core anaesthesia

[3/6 months to 24 months]

Once the trainee has completed all the minimum clinical learning outcomes identified in ‘The basis of anaesthetic practice’ and has obtained the IAC, they will move on to the remainder of Core Level training. This will provide a comprehensive introduction to all aspects of elective and emergency anaesthetic practice [with the exceptions some special interest areas of practice including that for cardiothoracic surgery, neurosurgery and specialist paediatric surgery amongst others]. The core anaesthetic units of training are:

  • Airway management
  • Critical incidents
  • Day surgery
  • General, urological and gynaecological surgery
  • Head, neck, maxillo-facial and dental surgery
  • Intensive care medicine (See Annex F)
  • Non-theatre 
  • Obstetrics
  • Orthopaedic surgery
  • Paediatrics o Child protection
  • Pain medicine
  • Perioperative medicine
  • Regional 
  • Sedation
  • Transfer medicine
  • Trauma and stabilisation

It is anticipated that the majority of these units of training will not be delivered in dedicated blocks; the exception is intensive care medicine, which must be completed in a three month block. Trainees would benefit from other units of training being dedicated; obstetrics, paediatrics and pain are three such.