2010 Curriculum

2010 Curriculum

See the 2010 Curriculum here

The rules and regulations governing training are contained within the curriculum. These are approved by the GMC, who are the regulators of training. The previous iteration of the curriculum was produced in 2010 and was last updated in August 2017. This Curriculum was written in alignment with Standards for Curricula and Assessment Systems [GMC; 2010].

Each level of training is represented within the annex documents, and provide additional information on the requirements for completion of the training programme.

Below you can find curriculum documents.

For a stage-by-stage description of the 2010 training programme, including examples of the related forms and certificates, please see our 2010 Training programme page.

More information on the types of assessments required to progress can be found on Workplace Based Assessments.

Click on the link for information on the ACCS curriculum.

2010 Curriculum

2010 Curriculum document

Annex A

CCT in Anaesthetics - Professionalism in Medical Practice (Annex A)

Annex B

CCT in Anaesthetics - Basic Level Training (Annex B)

Annex C

CCT in Anaesthetics - Intermediate Level Training (Annex C)

Annex D

CCT in Anaesthetics - Higher Level Training (Annex D)

Annex E

CCT in Anaesthetics - Advanced Level Training (Annex E)

Annex F

CCT in Anaesthetics - Intensive Care Medicine (Annex F)

Annex G

CCT in Anaesthetics - Teaching & Training, Academic & Research (inc audit) & Management for Anaes, CC & PM (Annex G)


Certificate of Completion of Training (CCT) or Certificate of Eligibility for Specialist Registration (Combined Programmes) (CESR[CP])?

Both certificates equally enable an anaesthetist to be listed on the specialist register and take up substantive consultant posts. Anaesthetists who complete a minimum of three years in approved UK training posts, and complete all parts of the FRCA examinations, will be awarded a CCT once they finish the training programme. Any less than three years results in the award of a CESR[CP].

More information on CESR[CP] and other specialist registrations can be found on the GMC website.

Doctors who wish to apply for a CCT retrospectively, having previously been awarded a CESR[CP] are advised to contact the GMC.

Please note that CESR is distinctly different to CESR[CP].  For more information about CESR, please visit our CESR and Equivalence section.

Dual anaesthetic and ICM training

To find out more about the dual training, please visit the Faculty of Intensive Care Medicine's website.


Find out more about Anaesthesia's only subspecialty Pre-Hospital Emergency Medicine.