Assessment Strategy for 2021 Anaesthetics Curriculum

Published: 10/01/2023

RCoA Assessments

The assessments used by the RCoA fall into two categories:

1. Fellowship of Royal College of Anaesthetists (FRCA) examinations

2. Assessments in the workplace

The assessments in the workplace can be further divided into:

a. Formative assessments: Supervised Learning Events (SLEs), Multi Source Feedback (MSF), Multiple Trainer Reports (MTRs)

b. Summative assessments: Initial Assessment of Competence (IAC), Initial Assessment of Competence for Obstetric Anaesthesia (IACOA), Holistic Assessment of Learning Outcomes (HALO), Multiple Trainer Reports (MTRs).

At all stages of training the Educational Supervisor’s Structured Report (ESSR) will make a recommendation to the ARCP panel as to whether the trainee has met the required level of achievement in each of the domains for each stage of training and where relevant, the critical progression points. The ARCP panel will make the final decision on whether the anaesthetist can be signed off to progress to the next year and/or level of training.