Primary FRCA MCQ

Primary MCQ Exam – next sitting

Countdown to closing date for applications:
Closing date: 
18 January 2018, 17:00

Exam date: 27 February 2018

Future dates: 

The Primary FRCA MCQ is a stand-alone written exam, applied for independently of the Primary OSCE/SOE examination and designed to test factual knowledge.


Online application and payment for examinations 

We are now able to accept online bookings for FRCA exams; to do so, simply click here, register, and follow the instructions. 

Please be aware that your eligibility is based on information that you must provide to the college in advance of an applicationand so, if we have not received copies of certain documents you will be unable to complete an online application.  These documents include: Initial Assessments of Competency (IACs) and Basic Level Training Certificates (BLTCs) or their equivalents, such as MTI supervisor’s reports, NHS appraisals or ICM Stage 1 certificates.  The documents that should be submitted in advance are outlined in the exam regulations.

If you need to submit your certificates, or have any other query, then please don’t hesitate to contact us on

For further information about on-line exam applications please visit the FAQ page

The Primary MCQ

The Primary MCQ consists of 90 Multiple Choice Questions Examination (60 x Multiple True False and 30 Single Best Answers in three hours).  It is held three times per year in March, September and November.  The exam normally runs from 2.00 pm to 5.00 pm and is held at a number of venues across the UK in London, Birmingham, Sheffield, Manchester, Cardiff, Edinburgh and Belfast.

Number of attempts
A maximum of six attempts.  (You must submit an AET FORM1 at least three months before your sixth attempt) 

A pass in the Primary MCQ is valid for three years measured to the published start date of the examination being applied for.

Results and statistics

Details of all FRCA exam results and statistics can be found here.


Guidance is not offered by the College to candidates unsuccessful in this examinations.

A quick guide to eligibility check is set out below. You must be:

Primary MCQ – maximum six attempts – pass valid for three years
Registered with the GMC or other National Medical Council AND
Currently registered with the RCoA as a UK trainee in Anaesthesia, or as an ACCS, a Foundation Programme trainee, ICM trainee or registered as a trainee in Anaesthesia with the College of Anaesthetists, Ireland (ACCS, FTs and ICM trainees are registered with the College on registration for exam purposes only) OR
An Anaesthetist who is registered with the College in a recognised membership category (not affiliated) (see Related Information) OR
Has previously successfully applied for Temporary Examination Eligibility (TEE)

The full eligibility for this exam is listed at Section 5 Paragraph 13 of the Examination Regulations.


This website uses Cookies, for further information see our privacy policy.