Anaesthetists and Intensivists recognised in 2022 New Year Honours

Published: 01/01/2022

The Royal College of Anaesthetists is delighted to see Anaesthetists and Intensivists being recognised in the 2022 New Year Honours.

During another tough year, this recognition of our colleagues for their services to the NHS and their specialties is richly deserved. Congratulations to everyone who has been recognised:

  • Professor Ravi Mahajan, Past President of the Royal College of Anaesthetists
    • CBE for services to Anaesthesia
  • Professor Hugh Montgomery, Professor of Intensive Care Medicine, University College London
    • OBE for services to Intensive Care Medicine and Climate Change
  • Dr Subramaniam Balachandran, Doctor and Lead, Cross Infection, Cardiff and Vale University Health Board
    • MBE for services to the NHS during COVID-19
  • Lieutenant Colonel Oliver Bartels (Army Anaesthetist), Royal Army Medical Corps
    • OBE for service to the military.

Special mention to Professor Helen Stokes-Lampard, Chair of the Academy of Medical Royal Colleges and Chair of the National Academy of Social Prescribing on being made a Dame for her services to General Practice.

The College is pleased to congratulate the above colleagues in addition to those College members recognised in the 2021 Queen’s Birthday Honours.