Election to Council is open

Published: 16/11/2022

The ballot is now open for two Consultant members and one Anaesthetist in Training position on RCoA Council; the successful candidates will contribute to the College and represent our members at all stages of their working lives. 
Place your votes to fill the three vacancies. You need to vote by no later than midday on 15 December 2022.  

More information on our elections can be found here.  
How do I vote?   

The ballot is being conducted electronically and all those eligible to vote should now have received a ballot email. Civica Election Services sent the ballot email on 16 November 2022 to the primary email address you have registered with the College. Look out for a message from ‘RCoAvote’. Your ballot email will take you to an election website where you can read the candidates’ statements and cast your vote.   

What should I do if I’ve not received my ballot email?   

If you have not received a ballot email and believe you should have, please:   

  • read the ‘Who can vote’ section below to double check the voting rights associated with your College membership category   

  • check all your email addresses, if you have more than one and you’re not sure which have registered with the College as your primary address   

  • check your junk mail     

After those steps, please get in touch via elections@rcoa.ac.uk and include your college reference number.   


Who can vote?   

The College is committed to appropriate representation of its membership on Council – the primary governing body with responsibility for the profession.  

Those eligible to vote for the two Consultant member posts:   

  • Fellows 

  • Associate Fellows 

  • Members 

  • Associate Members 

  • Anaesthetists in Training 

  • Senior Fellows and Members 

Honorary Fellows are not eligible to vote. 

Those eligible to vote for the Anaesthetist in Training post are:   

  • Anaesthetists in Training   

  • Fellows in Training.  

Those who will be standing for election are listed below (in the order their applications were received). Terms of office begin from March 2023.   

Consultant Member Vacancy (two to elect)   

  • Dr Karen Bartholomew 

  • Dr Chris Carey 

  • Dr Daphne Varveris 

  • Dr Peter Hambly 

  • Dr Dev Srivastava 

  • Dr Hoo Kee Tsang 

  • Dr Dalvina Hanu-Cernat 

  • Dr Sameh Abdullatif 

  • Dr Chris Taylor 

  Anaesthetist in Training vacancy (one to elect): 

  • Dr Shashikant Yegnaram 

  • Dr Meera Raja 

  • Dr Catherine Bernard 

Contact Information:   
Jonathan Brüün   
Chief Executive Officer