Simulation: Working with the new ASPiH standards

In this Episode of Anaesthesia on Air, Dr Steffan Glaze, Dinwoodie Simulation Fellow at the Royal College of Anaesthetists, hosts a discussion about the new Standards for Simulation-based Practice from the Association of Simulated Practice in Healthcare (ASPiH) with two of the authors, Professor Cristina Diaz-Navarro and Professor Makani Purva, alongside Professor Mary Mushambi, University Lead for Simulation at the University of Leicester.

They share the creation process and aims of the new standards, changes from the previous iteration and potential applications within both practice and teaching. 


Subscribe now to ensure this and future episodes are automatically downloaded to your device. Apple PodcastsGoogle PodcastsAudioboom and Spotify

(Recorded February 2024)

Dr Steffan Glaze

Dr Steffan Glaze is the Dinwoodie Simulation Fellow at the Royal College of Anaesthetists, and a trainee in the Thames Valley region.

Professor Cristina Diaz–Navarro

Professor Cristina Diaz–Navarro is consultant anaesthetist with interest in Neuroanaesthesia and Academic Head of Perioperative Care Department at Cardiff and Vale University Health Board. She is also Associate Dean for Simulation and Clinical Skills at Health Education and Improvement Wales (HEIW), Honorary Professor at the School of Medicine at Cardiff University, an Associate Professor for the School of Medicine and Healthcare Sciences at the University of Barcelona, Executive Committee Member at the Association for Simulation in Healthcare Practice, and Chair of the Scientific Committee for the European Medical Simulation Society.

Professor Makani Purva

Professor Makani Purva is a Consultant Obstetric Anaesthetist at Hull Teaching Hospitals, UK.  She is an Honorary Professor of Simulation at Hull York Medical School and is on the editorial board of the International Journal of Healthcare Simulation. She is the Founder of the Hull Institute of Learning and Simulation, the largest simulation centre in Yorkshire. Professor Purva is former President of the Association of Simulated Practice in Healthcare in the UK. She was the lead author of the first simulation standards in the UK and a key author of the second iteration of the standards. She also developed the ASPiH accreditation process to enable individual, programme and organisational accreditation.

Professor Mary Mushambi

Professor Mary Mushambi is a consultant anaesthetist, Difficult Airway Society professor of anaesthesia and airway management and associate professor at the University of Leicester where she is the University Lead for Simulation.